homemade b(u)tterfi(n)ger mini’s

I’m really working hard at trying to figure out how to strike this happy balance between gluttony and starvation. Sugar, that coy bastard, usually stampedes any health kick I’m on. How my face hasn’t melted off from my sugar intake is honest to god beyond me. You remember the Pringles slogan, “Once you pop, the fun don’t stop”? Well the fun don’t stop ’till I pop.

This sugar “cripple” God hath bestowed on me has not, however, weaned me from my love of baking. I have learned that upon completion of a recipe, I am to immediately package and store the goods out of my reach while spiritually chanting “nothing tastes as good as skinny feels” and watch others enjoy the fruits of my labor. 

With all of the post-Halloween candy sales at drug stores nationwide and me to never turn down a sale (or sugar), I wanted to make something out of it – and thus, I bring you my homemade Butterfinger Mini’s. Now go get hopped up on some sugar and make some mistakes, you crazy kids!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Homemade Butterfinger Bars

Adapted from the lovely Blue Eyed Bakers

3 cups candy corn

1 ½ cups smooth peanut butter

2 cups milk chocolate chips or chocolate candy melts, for dipping

Line an 8 x 9 baking pan with parchment paper and set aside.

Place the candy corn in a glass bowl and microwave in 30 second intervals, stirring between until candy is completely melted.  Add in the peanut butter and continue to stir vigorously until the mixture is smooth.

Spread the mixture into pan and let sit at room temperature until cool, about an hour.  Using a sharp knife, cut candy into 1 x 2 inch bars.

Melt chocolate chips or candy melts in the microwave, checking every 15 seconds.  Stir until smooth.  Dip each bar into chocolate to coat completely.  Place on wax paper lined baking sheet to firm.  Store covered in the fridge.

2 thoughts on “homemade b(u)tterfi(n)ger mini’s

Leave a Reply

