(un)usual classic

I know, it’s been a while. Some of you probably thought, “oh well, just another short-lived blog”. While others were thinking “I swear, I am THIS close to taking this blog off my favorites”. And for those die-hard fans who’ve constructed an Unlucky Tales shrine in the lower depths of their closet, I sincerely apologize. I needed to recuperate from Fall semester so naturally I took refuge in the kitchen. I don’t want to get into it but Fudge and I had a tumultuous fling.

Well, I’m happy to report that you can stop holding your breath – that bluish tint in your cheeks isn’t a good look for anybody. I’m back in action and am staring the new year with a recipe….what new years resolution? I was really good the first week. Cardio Barre, two-a-days and nothing but veggies, fruit and protein. I wanted to reward myself (who wouldn’t?) with some Oreo Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookie goodness. This unusual classic comes from Picky Palate.

They were meant as a housewarming gift for a good friend but the baker is obligated to try one, give or take five.

Oreo Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies

2 sticks softened butter

¾ cup packed light brown sugar

1 cup granulated sugar

2 large eggs (large, seriously? Such an unnecessary adj.)

1 tablespoon pure vanilla

3 ½ cups all purpose flour (I used 2 C whole wheat and 1 ½ C all purpose)

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

10 oz bag chocolate chips

1 bag Oreo cookies (double stuff or bust)

 

  1. Preheat over to 350 degrees F. Cream butter and sugars until well combined. Add eggs and vanilla until well combined.
  2. In a separate bowl, combine flour, salt and baking soda. Slowly add to wet ingredients. Add chocolate chips. Mix until just combined.
  3. Using an ice cream scoop, scoop two cookies about 2 in around and form around one Oreo. Seal the dough around the Oreo and place on cookie sheet.
  4. Bake cookies 9-13 minutes depending on the amount of dough you ACTUALLY use per cookie.

I didn’t even use the entire box of oreos, whoops. They could probably feed a small city and I don’t hate it.

Leave a Reply

