family dinner

It’s tradition at home that Sunday night was for family dinner. I didn’t grow up in a  family with two siblings and blissfully married parents. It was just me, my mom, the nanny and the fat cat. Four females, 1 1/2 bathrooms….oy. My mom got remarried when I was 13, which was a huge change for me. Fast forward 8 years, the once random compilation that was my house now consisted of 1 part step-father, 1 part fat(ter) cat, 2 dinky chihuahua’s (they grow on you), me and my mom. Despite our crazy work/school/extracurricular schedules, we decided we’d always make time to have dinner together every Sunday night; sort of a way to reconvene and get reacquainted.

My mother bestowed the tradition on me (little does she know) and have Sunday night dinners with my roommates as often as possible. Since it’s midterm’s week and everyone’s stressed, I cooked some whole wheat pasta with chicken and oven-cooked veggies to gear up me and my ladies for a demanding week of tireless studying.

Whole Wheat Pasta with Chicken and Veggies

1 box whole wheat pasta

2 thinly cut boneless, skinless chicken breasts, thinly sliced

2 tbsp minced garlic (Sarah likey garlic)

1/2 cup sliced white onion, chopped

1/2 zucchini, thinly sliced

1/2 yellow squash, thinly sliced

1 sweet potato

family din

sunday dinner for my girlies

This recipe couldn’t be easier, given our doll house-size kitchen. Pre-heat the oven to 425 degrees. I roughly chopped the zucchini, squash and sweet potato (maybe an inch thick?), tossed them in a bowl with some olive oil, salt and pepper and spread them evenly over a sheet of tin foil on a pan. Set the timer for 14-18 min depending on the quantity and let them do their thing.

Meanwhile, boil about 3 cups of water. When the water comes to a boil, throw a bit of salt in to bring out the flavor of the pasta and gently place the pasta in the water (word to the wise, don’t get too agressive otherwise hot water will jump the pot). Keep an eye on the pasta, stirring every couple of minutes.

While all of that goodness is happening, heat up a pan at about medium heat, drizzle with a bit of olive oil and the minced garlic. Toss the chicken and onion in and cook evenly (about 4 minutes a side). I slice the chicken prior to cooking only because cooks faster that way. Sometimes it can be a bit harder to evenly flip all of the pieces, though.

Place all ingredients in a bowl and toss. Im a simpleton and am a big advocate of butter and oil instead of red sauce so I added some feta and parmesan cheese on top. If you have ramekin bowls, you could even add the cheese then stick the individual servings in the oven for about 6 minutes to make a nice crust. Also, feel free to serve the veggies as a side dish because they’re THAT good.

2 thoughts on “family dinner

  1. Sarah, I’m catching up on your blog and I’ve gotta tell ya, this pasta sounds great. Did you make this up?

    Also, quick question – are either of the cat pictures above Sprocket? They sure look like her, if they’re not.

    Can’t wait to see you on the 20th!

    • I did! I wanted to make something easy, but healthy and filling. The roasted veggies were the star, though, I must say. No, the cat pictures are not Sprocket. I don’t think I could stand it if she had a lion cut (mom made that mistake one time. Never again.) Can’t wait to see you guys!

Leave a Reply

